Entry in the registry of societies

Entry of the “Stifterverband Private Universität Koblenz - Wissenschaftliche Hochschule für Unternehmensführung” (WHU Benefactors' Association) in the registry of societies

Application to the Ministry of Culture

Application to the Ministry of Culture for accreditation or authorization of an international school of economics in Koblenz as a privately funded business school

Submission of the Basic concept

Submission of the “Basic concept for an independent, international elite university for the preparation of future leadership for the economy” to the Ministry of Culture


Honorary dean

Professor Dr. Friedrich A. von Hayek is appointed honorary dean

Begin of studies

A total of 48 students begin their studies in the former premises of an elementary school in Koblenz Karthause

Final government approval

First WHU student admission process

Renewed application

Renewed application to the Ministry of Culture for government approval of the new university

Recognition WHU Foundation

Recognition of the society “Stiftung Wissenschaftliche Hochschule für Unternehmensführung” (WHU Foundation)

First meeting

First meeting of the founding members of the senate, to finalize the concept, courses and curricula

Hour of birth

“Official hour of birth of the university” – the first large press conference by the founders in the nation’s capital city, Bonn


Election first dean

First meeting of the Board of Trustees and election of the first dean, Professor Dr. Sönke Albers


Doctoral studies

WHU starts offering doctoral studies

New dean

Professor Dr. Wolfgang König becomes the new dean


WHU habilitations

Approval of the regulations for WHU habilitations (post-doctoral thesis)

First foreign exchange student

Arrival of the first foreign exchange student, Karen Jolliffe from Queens University


First students graduate

School facility in Vallendar

Gala opening of the new business school facility in Vallendar

New dean

Professor Dr. Wilhem Pfähler becomes the new dean

First honorary senator

Hanno Ludwig becomes the first honorary senator


New dean

Professor Dr. Jürgen Weber becomes the new dean


New dean

Professor Dr. Adolf Friedrich Jacob becomes the new dean


WHU changes its name

50 million Deutsche Mark donation from Metro founder Prof. Otto Beisheim. WHU changes its name into WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management


New dean

Professor Dr. Horst G. Carus becomes the new dean


New dean

Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel becomes the new dean


EMBA starts

Kellogg-WHU Executive MBA (EMBA) program starts


Re-elected dean

Professor Dr. Adolf Friedrich Jacob is re-elected dean

EQUIS accreditation

WHU receives EQUIS accreditation


New dean

Professor Dr. Klaus Brockhoff becomes the new dean


New buildings

The new buildings for lecturing G and H are opened


German Research Foundation

WHU becomes a member of the German Research Foundation (DFG)


New dean

Professor Dr. Peter J. Jost becomes the new dean


First Bachelor students

Ceremonial enrollment of the first Bachelor students

Campus Krautkrämer

Opening of the new dormitory "Campus Krautkrämer"

Full-Time MBA

The first full-time MBA students begin their studies

Re-elected dean

Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean

WHU receives FIBAA accreditation


WHU is member of AACSB

Joint Bucerius/WHU

WHU and the Bucerius Law School initiate the joint Bucerius/WHU Master of Law and Business Program


Re-elected dean

Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean


Opening of the new Master building

First MSc students

The first students start their Master of Science Programm at WHU

Opening of the new Bachelor building

The first "Juniorprofessors" are appointed


WHU celebrates its 25th anniversary

Re-elected dean

Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean

WHU receives EQUIS re-accreditation


WHU receives AACSB accreditation

Part-Time MBA

WHU Part-Time MBA starts in Düsseldorf

Opening of the new Building D


Re-elected dean

Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean


Campus Düsseldorf

WHU opens its second Campus in Düsseldorf

FIBAA Accreditation

WHU achieves the FIBAA System Accreditation


New Open Enrollment Programs

Separation Master of Science Program

Separation of the Master of Science Program into Maser in Management and Master in Finance


WHU receives EQUIS re-accreditation

New premises

Opening of new premises on Campus Düsseldorf

WHU celebrates its 30th anniversary


Elected dean

Professor Dr. Markus Rudolf is elected dean


WHU receives AACSB re-accreditation


Master in Entrepreneurship

WHU Master in Entrepreneurship (MSc) starts in Vallendar