WHU historical timeline

1983 May Submission of the “Basic concept for an independent, international elite university for the preparation of future leadership for the economy” to the Ministry of Culture
July Application to the Ministry of Culture for accreditation or authorization of an international school of economics in Koblenz as a privately funded business school
December Entry of the “Stifterverband Private Universität Koblenz - Wissenschaftliche Hochschule für Unternehmensführung” (WHU Benefactors' Association) in the registry of societies
1984 January “Official hour of birth of the university” – the first large press conference by the founders in the nation’s capital city, Bonn
January First meeting of the founding members of the senate, to finalize the concept, courses and curricula
March Recognition of the society “Stiftung Wissenschaftliche Hochschule für Unternehmensführung” (WHU Foundation)
May Renewed application to the Ministry of Culture for government approval of the new university
July First WHU student admission process
August Final government approval
October A total of 48 students begin their studies in the former premises of an elementary school in Koblenz Karthause
Professor Dr. Friedrich A. von Hayek is appointed honorary dean
1985 April First meeting of the Board of Trustees and election of the first dean, Professor Dr. Sönke Albers
1986 Professor Dr. Wolfgang König becomes the new dean
May WHU starts offering doctoral studies
1987 Autumn Arrival of the first foreign exchange student, Karen Jolliffe from Queens University
September Approval of the regulations for WHU habilitations (post-doctoral thesis)
1988 Hanno Ludwig becomes the first honorary senator
Professor Dr. Wilhem Pfähler becomes the new dean
October Gala opening of the new business school facility in Vallendar
October First students graduate
1990 Professor Dr. Jürgen Weber becomes the new dean
1992 Professor Dr. Adolf Friedrich Jacob becomes the new dean
1993 50 million Deutsche Mark donation from Metro founder Prof. Otto Beisheim. WHU changes its name into WHU - Otto Beisheim School of Management
1995 Professor Dr. Horst G. Carus becomes the new dean
1996 Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel becomes the new dean
1997 Kellogg-WHU Executive MBA (EMBA) program starts
1998 WHU receives EQUIS accreditation
Professor Dr. Adolf Friedrich Jacob is re-elected dean
1999 Professor Dr. Klaus Brockhoff becomes the new dean
2000 December The new buildings for lecturing G and H are opened
2001 WHU becomes a member of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
2004 Professor Dr. Peter J. Jost becomes the new dean
2005 WHU receives FIBAA accreditation
Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean
March The first full-time MBA students begin their studies
September Opening of the new dormitory "Campus Krautkrämer"
October Ceremonial enrollment of the first Bachelor students
2006 WHU and the Bucerius Law School initiate the joint Bucerius/WHU Master of Law and Business Program
December WHU is member of AACSB
2007 Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean
2008 The first "Juniorprofessors" are appointed
Opening of the new Bachelor building
September The first students start their Master of Science Programm at WHU
October Opening of the new Master building
2009 WHU receives EQUIS re-accreditation
Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean
WHU celebrates its 25th anniversary
2010 Opening of the new Building D
WHU Part-Time MBA starts in Düsseldorf
WHU receives AACSB accreditation
2011 Professor Dr. Michael Frenkel is re-elected dean
2012 WHU achieves the FIBAA System Accreditation
October WHU opens its second Campus in Düsseldorf
2013 September Separation of the Master of Science Program into Maser in Management and Master in Finance
New Open Enrollment Programs
2014 WHU celebrates its 30th birthday
Opening of new premises on Campus Düsseldorf
WHU receives EQUIS re-accreditation
2015 Professor Dr. Markus Rudolf is elected dean
2016 WHU receives AACSB re-accreditation
2017 WHU Master in Entrepreneurship (MSc) starts in Vallendar