German Sustainability Award for Companies 2023

Jury member Professor Arne Strauss evaluated companies active in the field of transport and logistics

Professor Arne Strauss, a renowned expert in Demands Management & Sustainable Transport at WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, served on the jury at this year’s German Sustainability Awards, which honors companies, municipalities, and researchers for their achievements in the area of sustainability. Held in Düsseldorf on November 23, 2023, the ceremony found Professor Strauss lend his expertise in the area of Transport and Logistics category.

The German Sustainability Award is a national honor has, in cooperation with the German Chamber of Commerce and Industry, the Federal Ministry for the Environment, and other partners, honored companies from 100 industries this year for the first time. With eight competitions, over 5,000 researched companies, and over 1,000 guests in attendance at the ceremony, the award is considered the largest of its kind in Europe.

In the Transport and Logistics segment, Contargo was named a pioneer of sustainability. The Duisburg-based logistics service provider was honored for its particularly effective and exemplary contributions to the transformation of the industry. Contargo focuses, among other things, on electromobility and plans to introduce 91 fully electric tractor units by 2024 and establish a low-emission supply chain. The other two finalists were the DHL Group and Fiege.

Congratulations to all winners and finalists!