WHU | Logo

English II, Gruppe D1.2

Kurs ID
LANG102E
Art des Kurses
Sprachkurse
Wochenstunden
3,0
ECTS
2.0
Semester
FS 2023
Vortragssprache
Englisch
Vortragende/r
Timothy Phillips
Bitte beachten Sie, dass AustauschstudentInnen im BSc-Programm der WHU eine höhere Anzahl an Credits erwerben als hier aufgeführt. Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte direkt an das [International Relations Office].
This is predominantly an advanced oral skills course designed to help students improve their spoken ability in English in academic and business situations. This includes making presentations as well as participating in discussions and interactions in academic and professional situations. The course will also make use of business case studies to provide the background for discussion as well as an opportunity to practise general writing skills in the form of an analysis of the given cases.

The course will contain two major course assessments:
1. A business presentation. Students do a presentation in pairs on a current business topic of their choice. Students will be made familiar with the language of presentations, with the structure of a business presentation, and will be given ample opportunity to practise in the form of 'mini' and 'micro' presentations in class. Constructive feedback on techniques and language will be provided by both instructors and fellow students. (60% of the grade)
2. A written exam. Students will be given a short business case study and will be required to answer a number of questions with a view to analysing the case at hand. (40% of grade)
Date Time
Wednesday, 11.01.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 25.01.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 01.02.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 08.02.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 15.02.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 22.02.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 08.03.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 15.03.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 22.03.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 29.03.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 05.04.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Wednesday, 12.04.2023 15:30 - 17:45
Materialien werden zur Verfügung gestellt.
Interaktive Übungen, Einzelarbeit, Gruppenarbeit, Präsentationen, Diskussionen, Analyse von Fallstudien
Präsentation 60 %; Schriftliche Klausur 40 %
WHU | Logo