WHU | Logo

English II, group D2.2

Course code
LANG102E
Course type
Language Courses
Weekly Hours
3,0
ECTS
2.0
Term
FS 2023
Language
Englisch
Lecturers
Timothy Phillips
Please note that exchange students obtain a higher number of credits in the BSc-program at WHU than listed here. For further information please contact directly the International Relations Office.
This is predominantly an advanced oral skills course designed to help students improve their spoken ability in English in academic and business situations. This includes making presentations as well as participating in discussions and interactions in academic and professional situations. The course will also make use of business case studies to provide the background for discussion as well as an opportunity to practise general writing skills in the form of an analysis of the given cases.

The course will contain two major course assessments:
1. A business presentation. Students do a presentation in pairs on a current business topic of their choice. Students will be made familiar with the language of presentations, with the structure of a business presentation, and will be given ample opportunity to practise in the form of 'mini' and 'micro' presentations in class. Constructive feedback on techniques and language will be provided by both instructors and fellow students. (60% of the grade)
2. A written exam. Students will be given a short business case study and will be required to answer a number of questions with a view to analysing the case at hand. (40% of grade)
Date Time
Wednesday, 11.01.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 25.01.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 01.02.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 08.02.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 15.02.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 22.02.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 08.03.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 15.03.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 22.03.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 29.03.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 05.04.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Wednesday, 12.04.2023 13:00 - 15:15
Materials will be provided by instructors during the course.
Interactive activities/exercises, group and pair work, practice presentations, discussions, analysis of case studies.
Presentation 60 %, Written Examination 40 %

Take home exam - students receive exam via Moodle Assignment function, then upload the typed answers to Moodle as a pdf document within the allotted time.

WHU | Logo