WHU | Logo

English III - Academic Writing and Business Presentation, Group B1

Course code
LANG103E
Course type
Language Courses
Weekly Hours
3,0
ECTS
2.0
Term
HS 2022
Language
Englisch
Lecturers
David Moroney
Please note that exchange students obtain a higher number of credits in the BSc-program at WHU than listed here. For further information please contact directly the International Relations Office.

Academic Writing: An analysis of the formal written style and the requirements necessary for writing a seminar paper or thesis in English. The course will look at academic language, sentence structure, paragraphing as well as the formal presentation of the paper, including citations and reference lists.

Business Presentation: Students are required to do a presentation in pairs on a current business topic of their choice. Students will be made familiar with the language of presentations, with the structure of a business presentation, and will be given ample opportunity to practise in the form of 'mini' and 'micro' presentations in class. Constructive feedback on techniques and language will be provided by both instructors and fellow students.

Date Time
Monday, 05.09.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 12.09.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 19.09.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 26.09.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 10.10.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 17.10.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 31.10.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 07.11.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 14.11.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 21.11.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 28.11.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Monday, 05.12.2022 09:00 - 11:15
Materials are provided by the lecturers. Secondary literature: To be announced at the beginning of the course
Interactive activities, individual, pair and group work, written assignments, practice presentations.
Written Examination (50%), Oral Exam - Presentation (50%)
Niveau C1 CEFR
WHU | Logo